Current Light Flashes
Outage Center My Account

Current Light Flashes

The official voice of West Florida Electric Cooperative:

March 2024

2024 Youth Tour Winners Announced

Back to Light Flashes

Congratulations to this year's West Florida Electric Cooperative (WFEC) 2024 Youth Tour winners. Joseph Smith, a junior at Sneads High School and LaRae Baxter, a junior at Malone School, were named West Florida Electric's Youth Tour competition winners on Feb. 20. Wyatt Speers of Cottondale High School is the alternate winner. Smith and Baxter have won an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C. and will represent WFEC on the National Rural Electric Youth Tour trip taking place June 16-21, 2024. They will travel with other students from Florida to meet up with hundreds of other high school juniors from across the country to tour our Nation's Capitol and learn more about leadership, our government and cooperatives. Smith and Baxter also won $1,000 college scholarships to use at any college, university or technical school of their choice. Speers
won a $500 scholarship.

Ten local students participated in the Youth Tour program this year: Chelsea Edenfield, Altha School; Morgan Faircloth, Bethlehem School; Matthew Evans, Blountstown High School; Rebecca Lee and Kason Nelson, Chipley High School (these students participated in a separate competition for the children and grandchildren of WFEC employees); Wyatt Speers, Cottondale High School; Larame Gates, Graceville High School; LaRae Baxter, Malone School and Joseph Smith, Sneads High School.

The purpose of Youth Tour is to get students out of the classroom and familiarize them with the utility that brings electricity to their lives. They also get a first-hand look at the activities of our government at state and national levels. This is a great opportunity to meet people, experience new things, and travel.

WFEC has participated in Youth Tour since 1979, sending students almost every year since. For more information about the Youth Tour program, visit

photo for 2024 Youth Tour Winners Announced